"Leviathan III" CD by Therion

Choose your size

In stock


Article description

Comes in a Digipak.

Swedish Symphonic Metal legends THERION release another masterpiece with their new studio album Leviathan III, completing their Leviathan Trilogy. The band, founded over 35 years ago by mastermind Christofer Johnsson, was among the first to combine metal with orchestral elements in the 90s and is now considered one of the most influential acts in Symphonic Metal. Now, THERION continues their genre-crossing musical journey with the third part of the Leviathan Trilogy, set to be released on December 15, 2023.

The album starts with the powerful 'Ninkigal,' which catapults the listener directly into THERION's musical universe. The sophisticated composition is complemented by Lori Lewis's dramatic opera vocals, alternating with dark growls and underscored by catchy melodies. It is followed by 'Ruler of Tamag,' which enchants the listener with an acoustic guitar intro and female vocals before transitioning into a dark and heavy passage that builds into a cinematic symphony. THERION has always been known for their fearless ability to combine various music styles, and on Leviathan III, they weave together classical Symphonic Metal with melodic death metal, neo-classical elements, and power metal, challenging their listeners, such as with 'Twilight of the Gods.' The song is a wall of epic symphonic metal and always finds a balanced blend between guitars, choir, and orchestra. 'An Unsung Lament' and 'Baccanale' charge forward at a high pace and captivate with compelling melodies that create a fascinating mix of classic rock elements, gripping lyrics, and choirs. The lively 'Maleficium' delivers a tension-filled duet between Thomas VikstrΓΆm and Lori Lewis, while the psychedelic 'Ayahuasca' transports listeners to otherworldly realms with its hypnotizing male choir. Tracks like the fast-paced 'Nummo' showcase THERION's core competence with intense guitar explosions, exceptional classical singing, and choirs.

With the wide variety of different musical styles and elements represented on Leviathan III, THERION once again blur the boundaries between metal and classical music. With this opus, mastermind Christofer Johnsson not only proves his impressive musical talent but also that THERION has perfected the combination of diverse styles and rightfully stands among the leading representatives of Symphonic Metal.


Item no. 563993
Musical Genre Symphonic Metal
Media - Format 1-3 CD
Product topic Bands
Band Therion
Product type CD
Release date 12/15/23
Gender Unisex

CD 1

  • 1.
    1 Ninkigal
  • 2.
    2 Ruler Of Tamag
  • 3.
    3 An Unsung Lament
  • 4.
    4 Maleficium
  • 5.
    5 Ayahuasca
  • 6.
    6 Baccanale
  • 7.
    7 Midsommarblot
  • 8.
    8 What Was Lost Shall Be Lost No More
  • 9.
    9 Duende
  • 10.
    10 Nummo
  • 11.
    11 Twilight Of The Gods

Our recommendation for you